reflection

fear……was whispered  so faint that it was almost as if no sound was coming from her mouth when asked, why did she wait so long. With that one word  spoken was a flood of tears. Nothing said but a wave of assumed. Was the cancer back?….I can’t go through this again….Will I make it this time?…I’m not ready….to die. What could I say to her? I held her hand for a few moments till the tears slowed. We finished her test. I hugged her, told her I loved her and that she was going to be able to handle what was given to her and to never let fear try to stop her from living again. She promised, hugged me back and told me she loved me too.

Some days and some patients I am grateful for. Today held one of those very special people. In her few moments of weakness I saw incredible strength.

Leave a Reply

